top of page
Writer's picturegokcekahvecioglu

Book Club: Coming-of-age Stories

Updated: Oct 7, 2018


I had this spiteful attitude towards nonfiction books, in particular autobiographies, self-help books, memoirs, since an early age. A teenage version of me was overpraising fiction, and looking down on nonfiction books. I had argued with my father, who usually reads autobiographies, over this and condemned him for only reading nonfiction. I even turned it into a family joke that still continues today. I was mean. So, it took me many years to accept that I enjoy nonfiction, too. At first, I was embarrassed. Now I openly recommend my friends nonfiction books without a shame. Today I am taking a further step in this direction: I am sharing two of my favorite nonfiction books of this year. The narrated lives in these books are not so different than a fiction though; they are gripping, jaw-dropping, and fascinating.




Born as a Crime: Stories From a South African Childhood (Trevor Noah): The birth of Trevor Noah in South Africa under apartheid itself was a crime. The nonsense of apartheid rule is in the background of this story. Still, Trevor manages to make it funny: a comedy is born out of a crime. You’ll laugh and you’ll cry. I got this as an audiobook, and I listened to the coming of age story of Trevor from himself. I would like to purchase a hardcopy as well, because it deserves a place in my library.




Educated: A Memoir (Tara Westover): This book caught my attention in Obama’s recommended book list. The title sounded intriguing as I am obsessed with education; e.g., working towards my PhD. I didn’t see what was coming in this book at all. I am shocked, utterly shocked. I finished the book a few days ago, but its impact is still growing on me. Tara comes from a Mormon family, who lives on the mountains in Idaho. In the first few pages, we learn that her family, in particular his father, doesn’t want her to get education at government schools. She doesn’t go to school, no primary/elementary/high school education. She goes against her family to get education. She self-studies and saves enough money to attend university. Fast forward to now, she received her PhD in history from Cambridge University. Yet, her upbringing haunts her for a long time, even tough she puts thousand of miles between herself and her family. Impressive life story, and a must-read.


Let me know if you get your hands on these books. I’d like to hear your thoughts.


Cheers

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page