top of page
Writer's picturegokcekahvecioglu

One day, one place: Indianapolis


Many times I passed through the Indy city without making a proper stop. I rolled my eyes at the silhouette of the high-rise buildings, getting bored at similar scenes of Midwestern cities. I came to appreciate this city when we followed the steps of Trevor Noah to Indianapolis. When we heard that Trevor Noah is going to do a show in Indianapolis, we jumped on this opportunity. After a three-hour drive in, and we were at Indianapolis on one of the beautiful winter days.


Metin was already a fan of the burger place, Bru Burger, there. He timed our trip so that he would arrive at Bru Burger hungry enough to gobble down a big burger. I did try the infamous burger Metin tells to everyone when the opportunity presents itself, but it wasn’t for me. I do have to say that the cocktails are great.


Bru Burger


We then walked around the city which has the second most war memorials in the U.S after Washington, D.C. I really liked the Soldiers and Sailors Monument, which was used as a gathering place that day for demonstrations against Venezuelan president Maduro. Right across from the monument, there is an open library on the sidewalk built by the public library.


Soldiers and Sailors Monument


We had so much fun at the Loud & Clear show by Trevor Noah. We bumped up our seats by paying an additional 20 bucks and watched his performance from really good seats. I had an affection for Trevor Noah since I read his book Born a Crime. Read my blog post on this book here.



This brief visit to Indy turned out to be a good one, which made me appreciate the city but also the Midwest. Here and there, I so much complained about how dull a road trip is in the Midwest, the long stretch of corn fields all along the road. If you make a stop to get to know the people or the places here in Midwest, you will find things to fall in love.




Cheers,

Gokce

30 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page