top of page
Writer's picturegokcekahvecioglu

One day, one place: Lake Tahoe

Updated: Oct 3, 2018

I’ve been thinking about what it is about California that makes me feel at home, and I found the answer on my weekend trip to Lake Tahoe on a fall day: it is the warming feeling of sun on my skin.


We stayed near the Incline Village area, which is famous for its crystal-clear water and sandy beaches. We directly headed to Sand Harbor Beach, the most photographed beach in North Lake Tahoe, hoping to swim one last time this year. It was a clear yet breezy day; and the alpine lake already welcomed winter into its turquoise-blue water. Still, we braved the cold water to dip our toes into the water.


Sand Beach Harbor

We drove south a little bit to start the downhill trail leading to Chimney Beach. The sun was setting across from us as we hike down, the blue shade of the lake emerging behind the pine trees, and the breeze was caressing our faces that are warm from hiking. A pine tree by the rocks was adorned by a dream catcher, adding a mystical aurora to the sunset. It was a dreamy place with sunset, rocks, pine trees, and beach.



Chimney Beach

By the time we finished our hike down to the beach, we were starving. We drove back to the Incline Village center and ate at Whitecaps pizza, a restaurant with a beach view. I found sour ale on the draft list, which always makes me happy.


Dream catcher at Chimney Beach

We stayed at Parkside Inn Hotel: a cozy mountain lodge with high ceilings. It has an indoor pool and sauna. I really enjoyed the interior design of this hotel. I’d definitely recommend it.


While it was hard to say goodbye, we left Lake Tahoe behind us on a Sunday morning, driving across the High Sierra: a picturesque group of pine trees spread across the mountain range. A sense of calmness takes over me as the sun hits my face: reminding me that I had been home.


Cheers.

144 views1 comment

1 Comment


Ateeqah Saffulbharin
Ateeqah Saffulbharin
Nov 09, 2018

I love all your travel posts! Especially this. Also because of the photos youve taken! short and simple post too.

Like
bottom of page