top of page
Writer's picturegokcekahvecioglu

Winter Park Ski Trip 2019



One can manage to fit in so many activities in one day in Colorado that one comes to think that time expands there. When you are back home (in my case, it is Chicago) you realize that it’s been only two days. So, the time contracts, thereby the time continuum remains intact. From the alpine trees to the aspen trees, to the pristine creeks, to the mountains, to the 300 sunny days (on average) in a year of Colorado, I am in love with everything this state offers. I am so obsessed with it to the degree that a wall in my apartment is completely covered with Colorado related souvenirs I collected from each trip, e.g., Colorado plates, tiles glued to the wall. In my heart, I am a daredevil yearning for mountains, the smell of the alpine trees, and wonders of nature, yet trapped in an urban city. Visiting Colorado every year is like taking a long and deep breath that will last you for all the time spent in indoor spaces. After a long and harsh winter in Chicago, I chose to recharge myself in Winter Park, Colorado with a ski trip in the beginning of March.




Now that you read my mini love letter to Colorado, let’s visit the facts about this ski resort. Winter Park is one of the closest ski resorts to Denver International Airport with around one-and-a-half-hour drive. I like the terrain at Winter Park as it offers all levels of trails for skiers. It is relatively cheaper compared to Aspen, Snowmass, Vail, etc., not only in terms of lift tickets or ski rentals, but also in terms of accommodation. I stayed at Winter Park Mountain Lodge for the two consecutive years, each time returned happy with the service they provided, e.g., free shuttle to the ski center, hot tubes, indoor pool.




I rented skis for two days, but unfortunately I picked a longer ski than I could handle on my first day. With the excitement of coming back to the mountains and slopes, I ignored the fact that my skis were too tall for me. I skied all day and ended up with some frustration and a bit of pain in my left knee because I had a hard time doing my turns. Here is a permanent memo to myself: always pick 150cm-long skis :) Through the end of ski day, it started to snow beautifully. I kept skiing under the snow as there is no nonsense, like wind gust in Chicago, when it snows up on the mountains (based on my experience so far). I met with my husband at the Village base at the end of the ski day. Once we were back at the hotel, we hurried to the hot tube for relaxation time, since there was no sight of kids at the time. There are two hot tubes in the pool area (indoors), but looking out to the mountains. We went to an Italian restaurant, Volario’s, for dinner, and had an enjoyable meal there. Apart from their fresh pasta and pizza, their cocktail list is also amazing.



Next day, I went to the ski rental place first thing in the morning, changed my skis, and hit the slopes. It was a sunny day but the temperature was lower. Skiing on fresh snow is so satisfying. The views are spectacular: once more the alpine trees are covered with lumps of fresh snow. With my appropriate-size skis, I succeeded my turns, got more confident, and took more risks. It was a good ski day. After reunion with my husband, we headed for the hot tube. In our last night, we tried Deno’s Mountain Bistro, had a light dinner with some wine. At this point, I’d like to praise Colorado people. They are the warmest and friendliest people I have ever met. Wherever we go in Colorado, we always meet nice people and find ourselves having pleasant conversations with them.


Following day it was time to say goodbye to the mountains, slopes, and alpine trees. Heading back to the airport, we stopped at Idaho Spring, where the Great Rocky Mountain gold rush first began. It is a historic place with small stores, which is worth visiting. In any case, stop by Frothy Cup coffee store. If you have more time, try Beau Jo’s pizza place for an authentic mountain pizza.

As always, Colorado enriched our lives with new memories we collected here. Already looking forward to the next adventure in Colorado.




Cheers,

Gokce

36 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page