top of page
Writer's picturegokcekahvecioglu

Ageless Friendship



Unconditional love, home, delicious food, sea, collared doves, newspaper, turntable, mountain. These are a few things that remind me of my grandmother. I am told that I was born in her house and lived there for one year: a special bond since my existence. But this is not about grandmother—no, she deserves a lengthy piece in the future.


This is about my best friend, my big sister JoAnn whom I met through a volunteer visitor program at Services for Adults Staying in Their Homes (SASI): a nonprofit organization that provides a range of services to senior people to engage them in activities. It is really a friendship program that matches you with an older person.


I think my desire to seek a friendship with an elderly person, in large part, can be attributed to my longing for my grandmother. In turn, I met my best friend and soul mate. Our friendship instantly became an inspiration for others and a symbol for the vision of the program. So, I was honored to speak at SASI’s fundraiser this year, and this post is mainly based on my speech:


I hope you find our story heart-warming and witness one of the many examples of SASI’s impact on ordinary people.


My name is Gokce Kahvecioglu. I am a PhD student in engineering at Northwestern University.

I am from Turkey, known as the cradle of civilization as it’s been home to Ancient Greece, Romans, Byzantines, Ottomans, and many more. I left my beautiful country, my family, and my friends in pursuit of higher education in the USA. But who would know that I would find my big sister, my best friend, Jo Ann, in a completely foreign part of the world to me?


I vividly remember the first time I met Jonathan—the program manager at SASI. Through the end, he told about the seniors who were available at the moment that I can match with. When he started to describe JoAnn, I knew at that moment that I was meant to meet JoAnn, and have her in my life forever.


JoAnn is a human rights advocate, a feminist, an activist, a lawyer. She is an artist with her artwork ranging from sculptures to woodcarving. She never stopped believing in changing the world for the better. I love listening to her stories and I can tell that she is still 20-year something in her heart.


I admire and inspire from her all the time.


In our weekly meeting, we talk about anything from politics to books to travel to art. Over the 8 months that I know her: we went to an art exhibit at Block Museum of Art; attended a public lecture and book signing by a NU Professor; went to the Art Institute of Chicago; we wandered in bookstores; and saved the world over and over again by just imagining.


One day Jo Ann showed me a book, and on its cover I saw a picture of my favorite Turkish poet, Nazim Hikmet. I couldn’t believe it. Previously, I mentioned his name at some point, and told her that Hikmet was full of human compassion. She remembered his name and checked out a copy of his work in English from the library to read. On top of that, she crafted a magnet for me with Hikmet’s picture on it. She is incredible and you will want her friendship in your life.


I have so many stories like that, but what I want to say is that we developed this beautiful friendship thanks to SASI. It has changed my life in a way I never imagined, and with your help tonight, SASI can continue to make even greater impact on the lives of seniors, and volunteers.


 

I hope our friendship inspires you to engage in community outreach programs, nonprofit organizations in various ways.


Cheers,

Gokce




77 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page