top of page
Writer's picturegokcekahvecioglu

Boxing: Fight like a woman!


It is about strength and empowerment, I said to myself, feeling as if I solved one of the biggest puzzles in my life. This epiphany came with boxing, which drastically changed my life. Now I mentally box through the difficulties of life; I am strong, resilient, and empowered.



I have struggled with my body image as far back as I can remember. This should not come to you as a shock since almost all women go through a similar body-hatred phase at some point in their lives. I never managed to get into the habit of regularly exercising before. In retrospect, I think I affiliated exercising with losing weight, in turn, I never enjoyed it. Luckily, boxing swept away all my false presumptions about exercising and helped me become a healthier version of myself. This is the first time I enjoy exercising, and as I exercise, I feel stronger, and feeling stronger is what keeps me motivated. In boxing, you attack but also defend your ground. I was always more inclined towards defending my ground nonverbally in life. At times, I felt voiceless while internal turmoils unraveling in my mind. Floating in the ocean, but not swimming against the ruthless waves coming at you. Boxing taught me to push through the hard times, but also grab and fight for the opportunities in life.


Modern urban life causes anxiety, stress, and depression more than ever. The punching bag is the perfect place to get these out of your system. If there is a particular subject that upset you that day, you just picture it on your punching bag and punch it out. You have got to fight with everything you have, just like in life. Embrace the struggle, fight it, and don't forget to have fun.


Boxing will always stay dear to my heart, my first love, and I cannot wait to see where it takes me next. I wish every woman to find a way to feel empowered through exercising, and to learn how to fight like a woman!



Cheers!

25 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page